What IS “Beauty”?

I’m sitting here,a few minutes ago, slathering on yet another layer of anti-aging face cream; followed by eating my cold, vegetarian fried rice, leftover from dinner last night, fighting with my rescued wolf hybrid pup, trying desperately to get my hair into something that is simply “out of my face”, when it occurs to me – what IS beauty?

Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.

~Confucius

I started thinking.
My tagline says “Beauty and everything beautiful”, but what exactly is beautiful?

I truly believe beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I don’t think there’s a right or wrong answer to that question. What I find beautiful, or describe as such, you may not.
And, vise versa, of course.

PicsArt_1440175707037

But, isn’t that what makes us all unique?
Again, the circle completes. Unique is beautiful. It’s the cycle of life, on a very introspective level.

Being a cosmetologist, FX makeup artist and retired model, one might think my idea of beauty is very mainstream (hence, globbing on creams and oils, potions and lotions, day and night, to preserve my youth in some vain attempt at maintaining what society deems beautiful).
On the other hand, eating vegetarian and rescuing animals might show beauty is a different form; a compassionate heart and love for all life.
I’m often refered to as “gothic”, because I find beauty in moonlight and bats, black roses and the macabre.
Then again, I’m a mermaid at heart, loving the ocean ebb and flow, the sand between my toes and the cerealun blue sea on a sunny day.
All things I find beautiful…for one reason or another.

Photo I took of an oil stain on pavement, after a rainy downpour.

Photo I took of an oil stain on pavement, after a rainy downpour.

People are like stained – glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.

~Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

My goal in this blog is to post beauty, ALL BEAUTY, because there is no “right” or “wrong” when it comes to such.
Will you see a lot of makeup and hair posts?
Absolutely!
Will you see funny memes and useless information?
Sometimes. After all, humor is beautiful. It leads to smiling…and laughter…and happiness.
Will you see dark poetry and melancholy thoughts?
Most likely; for without the darkness, we can not appreciate the light.
I hope you’ll open your eyes and your mind; join along on our wild ride. A true tour, and salute, to beauty from our eyes, to yours.
Be warned – it’s kind of scary in there.
But, I guarantee its well worth it in the end.

Images: pinterest, personal.

Leave a Reply

