Rockin’ Out, Jamberry Style!

Do you Jam? Ever had a “Jamicure”?
It does not go on a ‘sammich’ with peanut butter. It does, however, make your nails ROCK.

'Eerie Nights', from the Fall Jamberry catalog.

‘Eerie Nights’, from the Fall Jamberry catalog.

What IS Jamberry , you ask?
Jamberry is an innovative system that allows you to apply nail “wraps” to your fingers, all from the comfort of home.
Wraps, as the company calls them, are essentially stickers you place on each nail, heat for a few seconds, and wear for up to two weeks on hands or six weeks on toes without any chipping, fading or damage to the natural nail.
A company that was started by sisters who wanted to have awesome nails, save a few bucks on salon visits and still have “sister time” has grown into a world-wide company with more than a ton of media attention.

A standard sheet does multiple manicures and pedicures.

A standard sheet does multiple manicures and pedicures.

While the company does sell mini heaters, the heat part of the application process can be done with a hair dryer…Hell, I’ve used my space heater when I’ve been lazy.

I typically wear them as accent nails, but do occasionally do a full set. This is Cosmic, with ring finger accent of Bird On Fire.

I typically wear them as accent nails, but do occasionally do a full set. This is Cosmic, with ring finger accent of Bird On Fire.

Not just wraps, Jamberry also sells polishes free of most of the brash chemicals found in traditional polish, hand care products and has just introduced a long wearing polish called TrĂ¹ Shine, which is a gel based lacquer formulated by the same folks who make that gel polish you’re probably paying extra for at the salon. You know the one.

Also a gel based lacquer, this is my third application of Epix in less than two weeks. That ring finger accent wrap? Not budging.

Also a gel based lacquer, this is my third application of Epix in less than two weeks. That ring finger accent wrap? Not budging.

Jamberry also offers their Stylebox, a monthly subscription service that delivers exclusive wraps, polishes, stencils and more, to your door, every month you’re a subscriber.

Show those toes some love, too! Not just for manicures, Jamberry makes a long lasting Pedicure, especially on gals like me who are barefoot or, if I must wear shoes, in flip flops.

Show those toes some love, too! Not just for manicures, Jamberry makes a long lasting Pedicure, especially on gals like me who are always barefoot or, if I must wear shoes, in flip flops.

And, they’re not just for the ladies, ladies.

My amazing husband, rocking a toe Jam! He suffers from toxic exposure, and is sensitive to chemicals. He also uses his hands a lot, and has to constantly deal with brittle, breaking, painful nails. We did a "test Jam" to see if he could handle the chemicals used in Jamberry wraps, since I can't apply polish, acrylic or silk to his nails.  A month later...

My amazing husband, rocking a toe Jam! He suffers from toxic exposure, and is sensitive to chemicals. He also uses his hands a lot, and has to constantly deal with brittle, breaking, painful nails. We did a “test Jam” to see if he could handle the chemicals used in Jamberry wraps, since I can’t apply polish, acrylic or silk to his nails.
A month later…

Safe for use on children, they even sell Jamberry Juniors, for the wee ones (or, those with very petite nails).

From the Fall catalogue! How cute would your little monster look in these? And, they offer "Mommy and Me sets", so Mom and Daughter (theoretically) can match!

From the Fall catalogue! How cute would your little monster look in these? And, they offer “Mommy and Me sets”, so Mom and Daughter (theoretically) can match!

Those are called Lil Ghoul, by the way!

Being a loyal acrylic wearer, for years, I just haven’t had the time and effort to keep up with them (I do my own, and all). Plus, with my husband being so sensitive to chemicals and smells, I hate doing it in case he gets home early or he’s home when I feel up to it. As a nail biter, acrylic was my saving grace! Jamberry has allowed me to grow out my own nails, and not be embarrassed by them.

Mermaids Tales, one of the top sellers. I use one wrap and get a ring finger accent on both nails, plus the French tip!

Mermaid Tales, one of the top sellers. I use one wrap and get a ring finger accent on both hands, plus the French tip!

The Fall catalogue was just released today (September 1, 2015), and I’m so excited about trying some of these new wraps!
(FYI, the site code has not been fully updated as of this post. Click “ALL”, not “NEW”, to view all styles available.)
As I mentioned, Eerie Nights was a first to catch my eye. Dipped In Gold, isn’t far behind.

Monster Mash, matches up nicely with Lil Ghoul (shown above), for a fabulous Mommy and Me combo.

Like something a little more plain?
Wild Child speaks to me as an all around, goes great with everything shade. My husband, who likes me in dark, dramatic shades, would love Stargazing , which my sister and best friend both picked as the one they’d see me wearing.
Artists will adore Palette , and I think it would be super stylish on toes.
Feeling a bit steampunk , or just want to flash some Fall flannel , you have to check out the entire site to see all the amazing selections.

Even if you're not new to Jamberry, look at all the fantastic new finishes they're now offering,on select wraps.

Even if you’re not new to Jamberry, look at all the fantastic new finishes they’re now offering,on select wraps.

Here’s the downside…
(You knew there had to be one, right?)
There are some unscrupulous consultants out there, as in any business. I’m not going to name names. However, every link I’ve posted is to the consultant I’m using now and forever, because she’s that awesome. If you have any doubts, go to the main site and shop straight from the source.
As a gal who goes from doing hair and makeup, to working on a car, to making dinner and playing with an “infant” dog, my nails take a beating. Jamberry weathers the storm. Sheets start at $15 (US), but collegiate, specialty and “licensed” wraps are a bit more expensive. Shipping is super fast and as mentioned, you’re going to get several uses out of a single sheet. As a cosmetologist, the price and convenience scares me (that’s $30+ you’re taking out of my pocket, to sit and let me do your nails). As a consumer, they thrill me.
A few tips:
-Clean nails thoroughly before application. An alcohol wipe or acetone polish remover works well.
-Use tweezers to handle the wraps. Oils from skin can negatively affect the adhesive power.
-Apply before bed. Don’t swim, soak or do dishes after applying, to make sure you get a great seal.
-Use firm pressure to stick the wraps, smoothing them out and pressing (especially around edges) before applying heat to “set” them.
-Use a size a tad smaller than the nail for a better fit.
-Give them 5-10 minutes after heating before filing the edges – this allows the adhesive to set.
-Don’t overheat. Its hard to say how much heat is too much heat, but if you’re using a decent hair dryer, a few seconds is all it really takes. If your finger is getting uncomfortably hot, you’ve gone too far.
-Push back cuticles before you start to get a nice, clean fit. Push again, with a plastic or soft tip cuticle pusher (available through Jamberry or at places like Sally Beauty Supply), after heating, around all edges, to lock that adhesive down.

You can also become a consultant and work (basically) for yourself, host online (or in home) parties with fun games and prizes and design your own wraps to match those shoes for a wedding or your daughter’s favorite toy.
Mild to wild, Jamberry offers something for everyone! Check out Amelia’s page, and tell her Evonne sent you! Or, send me a PM on Facebook and ask to join my current party, running through September 5, 2015.

Images:Jamberry,personal

One thought on “Rockin’ Out, Jamberry Style!

  1. Pingback: Monster Mash | Glitter Fantasy...

Leave a Reply

