Thursday is for a Throwback

I’ve reached a point in my life, where I’m not about having “stuffs and things”, rather making memories and having great experiences. I love “Throwback Thursday” for this very reason; it encourages everyone to take a peek into their memories and have a chance to re-live those experiences.

Some people insist that a memory be “X” amount of years old in order to be considered a “throwback”. I disagree. As long as you’re enjoying a moment in time, for the second, fifth, 20th time, who cares if it was six days, six months or six years ago?
I’m hoping to bring you a little piece of my past, every Thursday. Not just so I, and those involved, can re-live some awesome moments, but also so you can get to know me better.

This week's Throwback Thursday was inspired by this sand-art "bird"  I found while Craig and I were cleaning out some boxes. Tattered and worn, it brought waves of fabulous nostalgia!

This week’s Throwback Thursday was inspired by this sand-art “bird” I found while Craig and I were cleaning out some boxes. Tattered and worn, it brought waves of fabulous nostalgia!

Fairs. This week, it’s all about fair and music memories. Inspired by the sand-art bird, from the county fair my BFF Amanda and I ditched school one day, to attend.
I’d been to a fair twice in my life before that glorious day. I was really young the first time, and don’t remember much other than it wasn’t much fun since I wasn’t allowed to ride the rides, play the games or enjoy the food.
The second time, was the state fair, which my choir group was performing at. That was much more fun. I wish I could find the box where I have all those 4X6, glossy photos stored, since we had free-range of the grounds, with the exception of our performance time.
Amanda and I decided to ditch a day (rebels we are) our sophomore year, and spend it at the fair instead.
This woman, who I love as a sister, got me on a ferris wheel.
In the wind.
I think I peed myself a little, but it was amazing.
(I’m not afraid of heights, but I do have a fear of falling.)
We made the sand-art birds, got matching “pet lizards” (yanno, the ones made of cheap foam, on a wire that “walk” themselves) and rode the carousel while waving to my auto shop teacher, who had also “ditched” to spend the day with his family.
We never saw each other, if you know what I mean.
That same week, I went back to attend a concert. Third Eye Blind, when they were cool. I still enjoy their music.
If memory serves, which it rarely does, I believe she and I returned the following year for REO Speedwagon in concert.
I went once with my first husband, who due to his height of 6’8″, made rides difficult.
And, again with the man I dated for about five years after I divorced.
I don’t really remember those trips. They weren’t worth locking away in my “good memories” file in my brain.
Fairs are expensive though. Sure, admission isn’t so bad, but if you want to ride the rides (which, again, fear of falling so I usually don’t unless it’s a carousel – then, we’re dropping a ten spot and I will beat little kids to get the critter of my choice to ride) or eat the food (which, deep fried everything is right up my alley! Pickles, zucchini, Oreos…), you better plan to spend a C-Note or two.
So, I hadn’t gone in many years.
This year, about a month before our wedding, Craig and I had a “pre-honeymoon” of sorts and went.
Why the county fair for a honeymoon?
The concert!
We’re all about music in this house. We both sing, I play about 20 instruments, Craig writes amazing lyrics and we both are very passionate about the emotions of music.
What concert, you ask?
Jack Russell’s Great White, Dokken, Sebastian Bach and Jackyl.
I had to see them! Four bands/artists we both like, for about $15 (admission and parking)?

Me with Chris Tristam, the bassist for Great White. We got to meet the whole band, but he was by far the coolest. My dorky face? Result of an unexpected sexual comment from Mr. Tristam.

Me with Chris Tristam, the bassist for Great White. We got to meet the whole band, but he was by far the coolest. My dorky face? Result of an unexpected sexual comment from Mr. Tristam.

Bach didn’t impress either of us, which was sad since we both like so much of Skid Row’s music.

Rockin' with Dokken!

Rockin’ with Dokken!

Jackyl…eh. Our least favorite of the group, we didn’t stay for the whole show, even though I got a backstage invite (I always do at concerts, for some reason. I also have a way of getting right up front. If I could put that on a resume, I’d be golden!).

Craig and me with Robert Tate of the Arizona Cardinals football team. I'm a NY Jets fan, Craig follows the Broncos. He was still wicked cool to meet.

Craig and me with Robert Tate of the Arizona Cardinals football team. I’m a NY Jets fan, Craig follows the Broncos. He was still wicked cool to meet.

The "Creepy, Crawly and Scary" animal exhibit. Once I heard bats were involved, I had to see it. Sloths and spiders, snakes and more...super cool!

The “Creepy, Crawly and Scary” animal exhibit. Once I heard bats were involved, I had to see it. Sloths and spiders, snakes and more…super cool!

Of course, we didn’t plan to spend so much. We didn’t eat, didn’t ride any rides, but once we heard Beer-fest was happening the same day, well…

Salute! Our beer-fest mugs, with grape-skin hard cider, by Woodchuck Cider. Sounds funky, tastes amazing!

Salute! Our beer-fest mugs, with grape-skin hard cider, by Woodchuck Cider. Sounds funky, tastes amazing!

Enjoying beer and hard cider, with a spectacular seal exhibit right behind us! What a day!

Enjoying beer and hard cider, with a spectacular seal exhibit right behind us! What a day!

That memory made me think of the first concert Craig and I attended together; which of all the many concerts I’ve seen, is still my favorite.

Avenged Sevenfold, my favorite band. As much as I adore "hair rock", A7X is my groove. I broke my foot that night, after a mosh pit broke out behind us, and every achy, weather change reminder, is still worth it.

Avenged Sevenfold, my favorite band. As much as I adore “hair rock”, A7X is my groove. I broke my foot that night, after a mosh pit broke out behind us, and every achy, weather change reminder, is still worth it.

Avenged Sevenfold, Buckcherry, Pappa Roach and Saving Able.
AMAZING!
I’m still, to this day, so thankful we got to see Avenged live, before their drummer, The Rev, passed away. Don’t get me wrong – they’re still my beloved, but they just haven’t been the same since their awesome drummer died. I appreciate a band with a solid drummer. As much as I adore M. Shadows voice and Synister Gates on guitar (watching him play is simply awe-inspiring), any band with a drummer and backup vocalist that talented, should be illegal.

Josh Todd, lead singer of Buckcherry. Dude is straight up nuts and we loved it! He had eyes for Craig! Craig insists he was starting at me, but I'm positive I'm not the blonde he had his eyes on!

Josh Todd, lead singer of Buckcherry. Dude is straight up nuts and we loved it! He had eyes for Craig! Craig insists he was starting at me, but I’m positive I’m not the blonde he had his eyes on!

Memories. The fabric of our lives.

What are your favorite fair or music memories? Let us know! I’d love to “hear” them!

Images:BabyBlue87,personal

One thought on “Thursday is for a Throwback

  1. Pingback: A Thirsty (and Thankful) Throwback Thursday | Glitter Fantasy...

Leave a Reply

