Simply Spook-tacular Halloween Beauty

Believe it or not, my very first job (at 14) was doing special effects makeup during the Halloween season. I’ve always had a deep love of makeup, and Halloween, so it makes perfect sense that this is my season.

Me before and after FX makeup. I prefer to hand blend, meaning I don't use an airbrush or anything fancy; this is standard faire makeup, (I do use a specific brand of powdered pigments) makeup, with the same kind of brushes and tools you probably have in your makeup bag.

Me before and after FX makeup. I prefer to hand blend, meaning I don’t use an airbrush or anything fancy; this is standard faire makeup (I do use a specific brand of powdered pigments) makeup, with the same kind of brushes and tools you probably have in your makeup bag.

Makeup is magic. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Like any magic, it’s powers can be used for good or evil (we’ve all seen a woman who’s foundation isn’t blended into her neck or whose eyebrows give her a constant look of shock and awe).

Halloween is a big deal in our house, and not just for makeup and costuming. Our deck, 2013 I believe.

Halloween is a big deal in our house, and not just for makeup and costuming. Our deck, 2013 I believe.

Having done FX makeup for so many years (20 now), it’s still what I love doing most.

More zombie shots. By far one of my favorite 'I did this because I was bored' makeup looks to date.

More zombie shots. By far one of my favorite ‘I did this because I was bored’ makeup looks to date. And, yes, those are my eyes. No contacts. I always get that question.

Halloween is my comfort zone; the time of year I can do fun stuff with makeup, hair and nails and not get quite so many crazy looks if I walk outside to get the mail while sporting it.

Another "just for fun" makeup look I did on myself.

Another “just for fun” makeup look I did on myself.

Of course, being a cosmetologist, I get to do super fun hair and nails this time of year, too.

One of my favorite sets of nails - I did these as a portfolio piece for Couture Boutique.

One of my favorite sets of nails – I did these as a portfolio piece for Couture Boutique.

I also get to do exciting things like lectures, demonstrations and platform presentations. Craig is such a great model; he makes life so much easier for me when these opportunities arise.

My husband Craig as Jareth, the Goblin King from the movie Labyrinth. I did a feature presentation at TusCon 40, and transformed him in front of a live audience! So much fun! Granted, I didn't get the eyebrows quite right, but going from the before pic, to after, in under 30 minutes, it wasn't bad! The bang part of the hair is a custom piece I also made, to clip in.

My husband Craig as Jareth, the Goblin King from the movie Labyrinth. I did a feature presentation at TusCon 40, and transformed him in front of a live audience! So much fun! Granted, I didn’t get the eyebrows quite right, but going from the before pic, to after, in under 30 minutes, it wasn’t bad! The bang part of the hair is a custom piece I also made, to clip in.

Craig as Alice Cooper. He didn't believe me when I said I could do it! Challenge accepted, sir!

Craig as Alice Cooper. He didn’t believe me when I said I could do it! Challenge accepted, sir!

It’s really all about having fun with it! And, anyone can do fabulous Halloween themed beauty with a little practice and patience.

Gorgeous lip art by Eva Pernas.  TIP: Those little fruit pieces on her, can be found in the nail section of beauty supply stores like Sally Beauty Supply.

Gorgeous lip art by Eva Pernas.
TIP: Those little fruit pieces on her, can be found in the nail section of beauty supply stores like Sally Beauty Supply.

Eva Pernas has gone viral with her awesome Halloween inspired lip art, while Tal Peleg does beautiful works of art on eyes.
Of course, if you’re looking for a subtle, subdued Halloween look like Eva’s or Tal’s, I’d say the age old addage of pick one feature and focus on it, as opposed to going all out on both.
If you’re looking for something more terrifying, these face paintings might inspire you. If not, here’s 25 more creepy makeup ideas.

Scary can be sexy. It's all in how you wear it.

Scary can be sexy. It’s all in how you wear it.

Still not convinced? Check out some scary and sexy makeup ideas for your Halloween haunting.

Imagine handing out treats in these terrifying talons!  Blood drips are super simple - paint your base color,  then add the red at the cuticle, thick enough that it pools a bit. Use a toothpick, safety pin or other pointed object to "drag" the polish toward a the tip, and stop briefly to let it puddle a bit. Do this a day or two before, and seal with a top coat when you're done, or else the thick polish will chip and peel more...which, could also look cool, depending on how you feel about it.

Imagine handing out treats in these terrifying talons! Blood drips are super simple – paint your base color, then add the red at the cuticle, thick enough that it pools a bit. Use a toothpick, safety pin or other pointed object to “drag” the polish toward a the tip, and stop briefly to let it puddle a bit. Do this a day or two before, and seal with a top coat when you’re done, or else the thick polish will chip and peel more…which, could also look cool, depending on how you feel about it.

If slathering on layers of makeup isn’t your thing, you can still be frightening and festive with your fingernails (or toes, for that matter).

Manicures based on classic horror flicks, these creepy nail designs , or these spooktacular tips can leave you feeling festive, without being overdone.

Start planning and practicing now, especially if you’re not used to elaborate makeup or doing detailed designs! That way, you have it down when it’s time for that big party or a night at the club.
A few tips:
-Maintain your skin. A good skin care routine is crucial in both everyday makeup, as well as FX. Exfoliate a couple days before to ensure skin is smooth, for flawless application.
-Same for nails. Use a good cuticle oil at night, before bed, to help keep nails healthy and strong.
-It will wash off. Don’t be afraid to experiment. Its not permanent, so have fun with it.
-If you buy Halloween makeup (grease paint type stuff from the drugstore), don’t expect detailed results. Also, it will budge, smear and run before a good pigment like Fyrinnae , which is what I use for a lot of my creations. Heads up! Order NOW because they make small batches and you will be on a wait list (most likely).
-Read the packaging. Some colors, like red, are notorious for staining the skin for a few days. Some are also not safe for all areas of the face. What’s okay for lips may cause major irritation to eyes. When in doubt, test products in a sensitive area (no, not there, perverts) – behind the ear, the crook of the elbow and behind the knee are standard spots.

Have fun, is the most important thing I can stress. If it’s not fun, and you hate it or are uncomfortable, it’ll show and ruin all the time, effort and planning you put into your creation, so make sure you love it before you wear it.

Images: ilovehalloween, boredpanda, diply, personal.

3 thoughts on “Simply Spook-tacular Halloween Beauty

  1. Pingback: Children of the Corn | Glitter Fantasy...

  2. Pingback: The Great Pumpkin | Glitter Fantasy...

  3. Pingback: Won’t YOU be my BOO? | Glitter Fantasy...

Leave a Reply

