If Loving Pumpkin Makes me a “Basic Bitch”, Then Basic I Am!

I LOVE pumpkin! I loved it way before it was popular and way, WAY before it was “basic”.

"Basic bitch", you say?

“Basic bitch”, you say?

When I was about 16, I fell hard, and fast, for the pumpkin doughnuts at Fry’s (Kroger). They had three varieties – plain cake, glazed cake and cake with a cinnamon sugar coating.
Normally, if I eat a doughnut, I want glaze or frosting, because it’s too dry otherwise. But, I had to have the cinnamon sugar ones! I’d buy a dozen and have them gone in two days.
Hey, I don’t judge you!

I don't have any yoga pants, but I kinda want some.  And, yes...I will tell you everything I love about fall.

I don’t have any yoga pants, but I kinda want some.
And, yes…I will tell you everything I love about fall.

I then found a local restaurant,Guilin , who makes a seasonal crispy fried pumpkin that comes with an oriental five spice type powder for dipping.
Okay! I’m sold!
And, this was way before we had Starbucks and Pumpkin Spice Lattes.

Watch out, ladies! Its a trap! Thankfully, I don't have to worry about this.

Watch out, ladies! Its a trap! Thankfully, I don’t have to worry about this.

Of course, Yankee Candle Company’s Harvest has been a long standing favorite in my house, and anything pumpkin flavored I want to either smell, eat or both.
Aside from having some impressive health benefits , it’s just freakin’ delicious!
In anticipation of this week’s Freaky Friday post (we’ve spun a web of spiders , and we’ve spooked with some spectors ) let’s raise our PSLs in a toast to “Basic Bitches” everywhere, and share a plethora of pumpkin recipes!

I love Pepitas, or the un-shelled pumpkin seeds. I toast, roast and eat them raw.

I love Pepitas, or the un-shelled pumpkin seeds. I toast, roast and eat them raw.

Pumpkin Cannoli Cones
Really? Pumpkin and Cannoli?

Pumpkin Spice Baked Doughnut Holes
The hole is the best part.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Cake
You had me at cake.

IMG_27254219817407

Melt In Your Mouth Pumpkin Cookies
And, if that’s not enough…

Pumpkin Chocolate Chunk Cookies
Because everything is better with chocolate. For example…

Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Oreo Cheesecake

Chocolate Chunk Pumpkin Seed Cookies

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Pudding

I drink my coffee black, but this might change my mind.

I drink my coffee black, but this might change my mind.

Pumpkin Fudge, Pumpkin Spice Blondies, Pumpkin Spice Scones and Pumpkin Oatmeal Coconut Bars would go great with that cup of coffee. Plus, you have an excuse to eat pumpkin for breakfast.

IMG_23942401119713

Pumpkin Apple Spice Cake, Pumpkin Cheesecake Monkey Bread, Salted Caramel Pumpkin Cheesecake, Cream Cheese Stuffed Pumpkin Bread and Pumpkin Pull-Apart Bread might be more of a dessert decision.

Pumpkin for dinner, pumpkin for dessert!

Pumpkin for dinner, pumpkin for dessert!

Non Pumpkin Pie Desserts
Because it’s not all about the pie.

Miniature Fall Desserts
For when you just need a bite or two.

Dulce de Leche Pumpkin Cupcakes
Remember, once you lick off the frosting, it’s a muffin, and muffins are healthy.

13 No Fail Pumpkin Desserts
13 just became your lucky number.

Disneyland Pumpkin Twists
Mickey and Minnie approved.

Whipped Pumpkin Spice Honey Butter
Forget hot sauce! I’d slather this s*it on everything!

IMG_23652725487636

25 Ways To Get Your Pumpkin Spice Fix NOW
Get on it!

Still not convinced? These Pumpkin Enchiladas should convert even the most devout pumpkin haters.

IMG_23914121022588

Now, what kind of Glitter Fantasy blog would this be, if booze weren’t involved? We did mention a few in In The Spirit , but Pumpkin Apple Spiced Sangria, Pumpkin Pie Shots and Pumpkin Pie With A Vodka Crust weren’t included.

We also told you about DIY Pumpkin Spice Soap, but wait for Friday when we really get our “Basic Bitch” on!

Images: nymag, deviantart, pinterest, personal.

2 thoughts on “If Loving Pumpkin Makes me a “Basic Bitch”, Then Basic I Am!

  1. Pingback: Halloween Haunting on Any Budget | Glitter Fantasy...

  2. Pingback: The Great Pumpkin | Glitter Fantasy...

Leave a Reply

