Seven Years Later…

My husband, Craig, and I have known each other for about 25 years; I used to house-sit, and occasionally babysit (even though his kids are about my age), when I was younger and growing up down the street.

Picture from our first Christmas together, in 2008, and our wedding get away May of 2015.

Picture from our first Christmas together, in 2008, and our wedding get away May of 2015. Both our (NFL) teams had a win this weekend (he’s Broncos, I’m Jets) which made it extra awesome!

He was married though, and of course, being 18 years my senior, a relationship at that time wasn’t feasible.
Neither of us knew the other was “interested” until 2008, when someone in my “family” passed away, and he came to the viewing and funeral to pay respects.
I was just getting out of a horrible marriage, and he had long since divorced the mother of his children, and, well, as they say, it’s all history from there.

Pictures from our anniversary weekend.

Pictures from our anniversary weekend.

To be honest, I think we both thought it would just be a “fun fling” for a couple months, when instead we ended up falling in love.
Deep, passionate, mad love; the kind of stuff fairy tales are made of (and horror movies).
Don’t get me wrong – we’ve had some insanely difficult times, where “giving up” and moving on would have made life easier for both of us…but, we just can’t give each other up.

Pictures from our anniversary date!

Pictures from our anniversary date!

I mentioned, if you follow my blogs, we finally got married, May 03, 2015 in a beach ceremony, Ocean Beach, California.

PicsArt_1442232944345

He is officially my longest relationship, and aside from his first wife (the mother of his kids, who he stayed with for his kid’s sake), I’m his. We both have a horrible track record with marriage and were a bit hesitant to ‘tie the knot’ again, but we figured third time’s a charm. Besides, I was done with a 6.5 year engagement.

My rings, and the beautiful man who put them on me.

My rings, and the beautiful man who put them on me.

Obviously, our celebration was marking the anniversary of when we first got together. To me, it was a big deal and he went out of his way to make not only the evening, but the weekend, special for me.

Dinner at one of my favorite, local Mexican restaurants - appropriate for

Dinner at one of my favorite, local Mexican restaurants – appropriate for Taco Tuesday! I just swoon for their salsa!

It was more than just a nice dinner out, though. Afterwards, we went to our “special spot”, out in the desert near our house, where we’d spent a first date listening to music, talking and polishing off a 1.75 of Southern Comfort. We call it being “out with the cows”, because it’s a beautiful spot, overlooking the city, but it’s in ranch area so free-ranging cows are everywhere! Plus, we enjoy ghost hunting , and this area is rich in spooky activities.

We shared a bottle of bubbly and broke out the meters. I thought "comfort" and "bride" were so appropriate!

We shared a bottle of bubbly and broke out the ghost meters . I thought “comfort” and “bride” were so appropriate! The morning post on my FB page and a view of the sunset on our way to dinner, are also shown.

Our toast, our cork (I collect corks) and my picture of the bottle and my heels; appropriate since we were drinking Barefoot brand bubbly!

Our toast, our cork (I collect corks) and my picture of the bottle and my heels; appropriate since we were drinking Barefoot brand bubbly!

Of course, another bottle of wine, some (ahem) “adult activities” ensued, and it was a beautiful night, enjoying mutual back massages, wine, cheese and crackers, music and each other’s company.

I made this after our date. Why is it funny?  About a year ago, I had a nasty accident while hiking, which resulted in a broken shin and ankle.  Not to be terribly graphic, but the ankle bone came through the skin.  Just when I thought I had it all healed up, I tripped over a cat, fell down the stairs and re-broke that same ankle in two more places.  I hadn't worn heels since the first break...hell, I haven't worn heels in probably two years. I'm a barefoot gal, and if I must wear shoes, I opt for flip flops (I wore "barefoot sandals" for our wedding). A good friend, knowing I was going to wear heels for our anniversary, childed me by saying, "Whatever you do, don't re-break your damn ankle!", which prompted me making a "win" meme to proverbially "raspberry" her.

I made this after our date. Why is it funny?
About a year ago, I had a nasty accident while hiking, which resulted in a broken shin and ankle. Not to be terribly graphic, but the ankle bone came through the skin.
Just when I thought I had it all healed up, I tripped over a cat, fell down the stairs and re-broke that same ankle in two more places.
I hadn’t worn heels since the first break…hell, I haven’t worn heels in probably two years. I’m a barefoot gal, and if I must wear shoes, I opt for flip flops (I wore “barefoot sandals” for our wedding). A good friend, knowing I was going to wear heels for our anniversary, childed me by saying, “Whatever you do, don’t re-break your damn ankle!”, which prompted me making a “win” meme to proverbially “raspberry” (stick out my tongue at) her.

I think our Sunday afternoon was even more fun! We spent the afternoon wine tasting at a couple local places and window shopping at Cost Plus, one of my favorite places to browse.

Funny cards at Cost Plus! We spent close to half an hour just reading funny cards!

Funny cards at Cost Plus! We spent close to half an hour just reading funny cards!

More hilarious Halloween humor!

More hilarious Halloween humor!

I just adore walking around that store, looking at all the unique and beautiful things they stock. Especially this time of year, when Halloween goodies are on the shelves.

I'm all about bats, any time of year! This is my season! And, I loved the bat guano jar! Be perfect for  keeping chocolate chips in, since I have a weird sense of humor like that.

I’m all about bats, any time of year! This is my season! And, I loved the bat guano jar! Be perfect foe keeping chocolate chips in, since I have a weird sense of humor like that.

More ghastly finds at Cost Plus!

More ghastly finds at Cost Plus!

More Halloween haunting and our favorite wines of the day.

More Halloween haunting and our favorite wines of the day, a red blend table wine and fabulous moscato.

If you've never been in a Cost Plus, put it on your to-do list! They have such an amazing assortment of everything from cooking utensils to furniture, hard to find imported foods and even jewelry and knick-knacks. Great place to find unique gifts this holiday season.

If you’ve never been in a Cost Plus, put it on your to-do list! They have such an amazing assortment of everything from cooking utensils to furniture, hard to find imported foods and even jewelry and knick-knacks. Great place to find unique gifts this holiday season.

Look at the etched peacock on the wooden spatula! And, of course we wanted C and E mugs!

Look at the etched peacock on the wooden spatula! And, of course we wanted C and E mugs! Also, the little Oktoberfest Marzipan candies in the beer mug and pretzel shapes were too cute!

The sommelier is a nice kid, who recognizes us every time we come in for a wine tasting. A couple weeks ago, we sampled a Rosè wine, that while we weren’t crazy about it, had the coolest bottle – engraved/imprinted with a rose on the bottom and a gorgeous glass cork like neither of us had seen before. The young man, whose name I cannot remember for the life of me, said he’d save us a cork for the next time we came in. Craig and I both thanked him but figured he’d forget or was just humouring us. Sure enough, the moment he saw us, said he had it and would get it for us as soon as we were done tasting.

Our glass cork! Beautiful gilded rose on top and yes, it is a blush pink colored glass.

Our glass cork! Beautiful gilded rose on top and yes, it is a blush pink colored glass.

Craig hasn't been feeling well since he took a nasty hiking fall about a month ago. He's indulging my incessant need to take selfies with him, but I love the protective look on his face, like, "mine, bitches" !

Craig hasn’t been feeling well since he took a nasty hiking fall about a month ago. He’s indulging my incessant need to take selfies with him, but I love the protective look on his face, like, “mine, bitches!”

My favorite find of the day! This gorgeous lotus pod wreath, at Cost Plus! This takes you from now, through Thanksgiving.

My favorite find of the day! This gorgeous lotus pod wreath, at Cost Plus! This takes you from now, through Thanksgiving .

After spending most of the day wine tasting and window shopping, we came home and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon playing with our crazy mutt, snacking on some Poppedify popcorn, sharing a bottle of red wine and watching a Monsoon storm roll in.

Our crazy wolf pup, Dusyran. She's a ham! "What is that she's got in her mouth", you might ask? "It looks like a head", you might say?  It is.  She's found one of my heads from when I was in beauty school, and it a her favorite toy ever!  She even tries to bury it in the yard! Glad the neighbors know I'm a cosmologist, or it could be awkward.

Our crazy wolf pup, Dusyran. She’s a ham! She loves her daddy!
“What is that she’s got in her mouth”, you might ask? “It looks like a head”, you might say?
It is.
She’s found one of my heads from when I was in beauty school, and it’s her favorite toy ever!
She even tries to bury it in the yard! Glad the neighbors know I’m a cosmologist, or it could be awkward.

Why have I decided to blog about all this?
Its not about the things, people. Its about the memories and the people who help you make them. I will remember this anniversary for years to come, simply because I had such an amazing couple of days, spending time with the person I love most in this world.
Quit worrying about whether or not your purse is Prada or your dinner come a from a five star restaurant. Put down your phone and simply enjoy the moment (I know…I’ve posted a lot of pictures for someone who put down her phone to enjoy the moment, but that’s the only way to use your phone when you’re enjoying an experience or a companion). Fall in love (again), remember why you fell in the first place (and I don’t mean how you may have broken an ankle!). Its glorious, unexpected moments like these that make me appreciate life, and more than that, Craig. He is the sun to my moon, and my life wouldn’t ‘ve complete without him.
Its not ever going to be easy, all the time. But, anything worth it, is worth fighting for and any person worth being with, is worth fighting with.
Tomorrow’s never promised; hell, the next few hours are never promised. Make sure you take the time to tell the people you care about, you love them.
And, make sure you make those memories.

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for more exclusive content!

Selfie before my husband surprised me with a fabulous 7th anniversary evening of beautiful fun and love! Please don't mind my disastrous bathroom - our wolf pup, Dusyran, is one hell of an interior designer.

Selfie before my husband surprised me with a fabulous 7th anniversary evening of beautiful fun and love! Please don’t mind my disastrous bathroom – our wolf pup, Dusyran, is one hell of an interior designer.

