The Great Pumpkin

Let’s face it – a Halloween celebrity and icon for most everything Fall, the beloved great pumpkin is about more than just some guy named Charlie Brown, or even Jack, for that matter.

PicsArt_1442600737036

With Halloween right around the corner, you may have noticed a lot of spooky, ookie and downright creepy posts here at Glitter Fantasy . Not hard to tell, its my favorite holiday.

When I was 'knee-high to a scarecrow', I had a little, stuffed, pom-pom Jack O'Latern almost identical to this. I literally loved it to bits and pieces.

When I was ‘knee-high to a scarecrow’, I had a little, stuffed, pom-pom Jack O’Lantern almost identical to this. I literally loved it to bits and pieces.

Earlier in the week, we shared a ton of pumpkin recipes, so today’s #FreakyFriday blog could be about more than just pumpkin spice lattes.
(But, let me add, if you’re looking for some more ways to use ALL of your pumpkin this year, you might find some interesting ones here.)

Craig and I indulged in these Pumpkin Hard Ciders, by Woodchuck Cider (I think they've become my favorite hard cider). Fantastic!

Craig and I indulged in these Pumpkin Hard Ciders, by Woodchuck Cider (I think they’ve become my favorite hard cider). Fantastic!

I also just stumbled upon this recipe for DIY pumpkin wine, and would be remiss not to include it!

This isn't Grandma's pumpkin pie!

This isn’t Grandma’s pumpkin pie!

Rich in vitamins and enzymes that help to brighten and nourish skin, this homemade pumpkin face mask might be more beneficial than that PSL (that you know is about 1,000 calories, standard.) If you’re lazy, like me, you can always buy a pumpkin mask, which are all over the internet.
If that’s not quite the pumpkin mask you had in mind, this subtly sexy pumpkin face painting tutorial , might be more of what you had in gourd.

I love vintage Halloween cards! I have several framed and packed away in storage that I need to find.

I love vintage Halloween cards! I have several framed and packed away in storage that I need to find.

Sweet smelling (and adorable) Jack O’Latern pumpkin spice bath bombs (with a Woodchuck Cider or glass of pumpkin wine) would be a nice way to relax and smell fiercely festive, especially since science has shown that pumpkin pie spice is one of the top scents that turn guys on.

Some cute, pumpkin finds from Cost Plus; Craig actually saw the pumpkin bread tins before I did.

Some cute, pumpkin finds from Cost Plus; Craig actually saw the pumpkin bread tins before I did.

I'm a fan of the tall, skinny Jack O'Lantern, but do you know the

I’m a fan of the tall, skinny Jack O’Lantern, but do you know the history behind the name?

Here’s an easy way to keep your creations. looking fresh and fabulous!

Silica packets, like you'll find in shoes or handbags, can also help prevent pumpkins from molding.

Silica packets, like you’ll find in shoes or handbags, can also help prevent pumpkins from molding.

This should go without saying, but please use this next idea with EXTREME caution! Please be sober, have it in a safe area, away from children, and have a fire extinguisher (or two) handy.

Want to spice up your Jack O’Lantern, and make something truly impressive?
2-3 foot flames should certainly do the trick.

Television shows like Halloween Wars are often full of inspiration as well.
And, if you just want to be amused and entertained, Punkin Chunkin, where pumpkins are thrown, tossed and propelled with all sorts of homemade contraptions, for speed, distance and height, is usually televised on several stations from early October through December.

Fun, pom-pom pumpkins and ordinary branches from your  backyard would make a pretty centerpiece or foyer decoration.

Fun, pom-pom pumpkins and ordinary branches from your backyard would make a pretty centerpiece or foyer decoration.

If you can't find white pumpkins, spray paint them and let them dry thoroughly before melting the crayons. Great way to upcycle those broken ones, that nobody wants to color with anymore!

If you can’t find white pumpkins, spray paint them and let them dry thoroughly before melting the crayons. Great way to upcycle those broken ones, that nobody wants to color with anymore!

Stack them, using wooden dowels for support.

Stack them, using wooden dowels for support.

Of course,  sequins and rhinestones add a gorgeously glittering touch!

Of course, sequins and rhinestones add a gorgeously glittering touch!

This is my personal favorite! Add lace and spray adhesive! Then, maybe some glitter, sequins or rhinestones like in the previous photo!

This is my personal favorite! Add lace and spray adhesive! Then, maybe some glitter, sequins or rhinestones like in the previous photo!

Craig and I picked our own back in 2009. I had never done my own picking of pumpkins, so we made a weekend of it.

Craig and I picked our own back in 2009. I had never done my own picking of pumpkins, so we made a weekend of it.

The white ones and little baby ones were my favorites, even though the grey ones we had coming up wild for a couple years after when we threw them over out back fence after they started to go bad. Beautiful bright peach flesh and smelled fantastic! Bittersweet though, seeing as how on the way back home from the orchard, we ended up in a terrible vehicle accident that totaled the truck and resulted in me needing two major back surgeries.

The white ones and little baby ones were my favorites, even though the grey ones we had coming up wild for a couple years after when we threw them over out back fence after they started to go bad. Beautiful bright peach flesh and smelled fantastic! Bittersweet though, seeing as how on the way back home from the orchard, we ended up in a terrible vehicle accident that totaled the truck and resulted in me needing two major back surgeries.

This is our doofy wolf pup, Dusyran, who got into some of mommy's Halloween goodies. She wanted to participate in today's #FreakyFriday blog, and let you know there's a special, pup friendly pumpkin recipe on our

This is our doofy wolf pup, Dusyran, who got into some of mommy’s Halloween goodies. She wanted to participate in today’s #FreakyFriday blog, and let you know there’s a special, pup friendly pumpkin recipe on our Facebook page!

Also, check us out on Pinterest ! There’s a chalkboard paint pumpkin idea on our “Spooky Beauty” board, I know my good friend Cassandra would just die for! There’s also some wicked cool glow-in-the-dark pumpkins, on the same board.

I must apologize that today’s blog wasn’t as thorough as usual; I’ve had a broken tooth that’s been giving me hell for a couple weeks now, and today it’s agonizing. Its made it hard for me to concentrate on anything longer than ten minutes. I do apologize!

If you’ve missed the last two blogs in our #FreakyFriday series, please go check them out!

Oh, The Tangled Webs We Weave

Won’t You Be My Boo?

Also, find some Spooktacular Halloween Beauty, a few Ghastly Halloween Cocktails and even some Scary Stories To Tell Anytime , if you need a bit more freaky in your Friday!

Also, I ask that you please read Scary Mary, Quite Contrary – as a cosmetologist and FX makeup artist, this is one of my biggest Halloween pet peeves…and it does directly affect you and your (if you have them) children. Please give it a glance.

Wishing everyone a safe and spooky weekend!

Images: Pinterest, personal

15 thoughts on “The Great Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Bats in Our Belfry | Glitter Fantasy...

  2. Pingback: Days of the Dead | Glitter Fantasy...

  3. Pingback: Black Cats and Cauldrons | Glitter Fantasy...

  4. Pingback: How to Perfectly Pair Your Halloween Candy With Wine | Glitter Fantasy...

  5. Pingback: Monster Mash | Glitter Fantasy...

  6. Pingback: Have Some Holiday Fun | Glitter Fantasy...

  7. Pingback: Leaf Peepin’ for Halloween Creepin! | Glitter Fantasy...

  8. Pingback: Watermelon Kegs Are So Last Summer | Glitter Fantasy...

  9. Pingback: An Apple A Day | Glitter Fantasy...

  10. Pingback: The Cute, the Creepy and the Terrifying | Glitter Fantasy...

  11. Pingback: Dem Bones! | Glitter Fantasy...

  12. Pingback: Have a Bloody Good Time This Halloween | Glitter Fantasy...

  13. Pingback: Halloween Haunting on Any Budget | Glitter Fantasy...

  14. Pingback: Children of the Corn | Glitter Fantasy...

  15. Pingback: Happy Fall! Lets Get in the Spirit! | Glitter Fantasy...

Leave a Reply

