Repair and Conceal With Proactiv

Okay, I’ll admit it – I’m almost 35 years old and I still get the occasional zit.
Especially around “that time of the month”.
I’m actually lucky; having horrible acne as a teenager, it’s rare I get any kind of acne-related blemishes now, and that’s a huge relief.
On the other hand, Craig, my loving and very sympathetic husband, usually gets the breakouts in my place.

We seem to share each other’s ailments A LOT, so every month, about “that” time, he usually knows before I do, because he’ll develop an acne breakout.
Lucky for me, not so much for my poor, loving husband who is in his 50’s.
In fact, right after I received the Proactiv Repairing Concealer Quad, as luck would have it, I got a pimple.
Craig actually “grabbed” me by the chin, got about six inches from my face, stared intently, blinked in disbelief and said (in a shocked tone of voice),
“Oh my God! Do YOU actually have a pimple?!?
No one wants a zit, but it was actually kind of glad I did so I could really give the Proactiv Repairing Concealer a fair trial.

There it is, rearing its ugly head, after a long day. As you can see, once I applied the concealer, and mixed the shades a bit to find the perfect color, it all but disappeared.

There it is, rearing its ugly head, after a long day. As you can see, once I applied the concealer, and mixed the shades a bit to find the perfect color, it all but disappeared.

I try to take very good care of my skin; as previously mentioned, I had horrible acne in my teens that left my cheeks and jaw scarred and pocked. I also modeled for years, and I worked hard to reduce the lasting damage that acne can cause. So, any blemishes are not only a painful reminder of those horrible teenage years, but a small panic attack that all my hard work will have been for naught.

The Proactiv Repairing Concealer Quad, as I received it. Four beautiful, bendable shades to perfectly match any complexion.

The Proactiv Repairing Concealer Quad, as I received it. Four beautiful, bendable shades to perfectly match any complexion.

I’d heard of Proactiv , and often wondered about it, but had just never gotten around to giving it a try. Those late night infomercials always looked so tempting, but at 3 A.M., so do 300 piece knife sets, onion choppers and time share properties.

Proactiv is definitely one I wish I would have tried sooner.Salicylic Acid based, like most commercial acne products, it also contains jojoba esters , which are not only soothing to irritated skin, but contain some of those repairing and restorative qualities.

Small, but mighty! It doesn't seem like much product, but a little tiny bit goes a long way, and the included brush helps blend it beautifully into the surrounding skin.

Small, but mighty! It doesn’t seem like much product, but a little tiny bit goes a long way, and the included brush helps blend it beautifully into the surrounding skin.

Remember my gnarly looking Rudolph nose? By the next morning, it was gone. The redness, the swelling…everything. It was as if I never had a blemish there to begin with.
I had followed the instructions on the packaging, and done a “test” before use to ensure I wouldn’t have any adverse reaction (I treated behind the ear and the crook of my elbow, which are common places to test products for sensitivity in the salon), so not having any unusual response, felt confident in giving it a shot on Rudolph (yes, I named my zit).
I was amazed, not only by how seamlessly the colors blended, how velvety they felt on the skin and how very, very little product was needed, but by how quickly and gently it worked.
Because I’m a firm believer in having a “second opinion”, poor Craig also got to be a guinea pig when he broke out. His complexion being much darker than mine, it gave me a chance to work with the darker shades included in the quad, and he was also impressed not only by how quickly and efficiently the concealer worked to hide his “time of the month” breakout, but heal it overnight.
Those were pretty standard zits, though. So, when I felt the telltale signs of a deeper, cystic pimple (the ones you feel, take forever to actually surface, and just basically feel like a mountain of pain under a bump on the skin; often for days or weeks), I grabbed the Repairing Concealer immediately, which using as directed, 1-3 times a day (especially right before bed), had what normally takes a week or more to heal, gone in a couple days.
At $35 for the compact of four shades, the price may seem a bit steep. But, even those who just suffer an occasional breakout will benefit from the fast gentle healing while concealing!
Craig and I both agree, it’s definitely an investment worth making. With me being a pale ivory, and him being a sun-soaked golden, its a great option for both of us.
The compact is small, easily portable and has a luxuriously large mirror for detailed application.
My one complaint would be, there’s no way to stash the brush in the actual compact, meaning either you have to tote the entire box, or risk the tiny brush being lost forever in your purse.
Aside from that, the Proactiv Repairing Concealer Quad has a permanent spot in my makeup arsenal as the best healing and concealing product available.

Leave a Reply

