Wahoo! Its Seafood Sunday!

When my husband and I got married, it had been a somewhat spontaneous adventure. An opportunity presented its self, which fell through, and we decided to make it happen anyway.

One of my favorite pictures from the trip.  A lonely magenta hibiscus flower, kissing the waves of a very angry ocean.

One of my favorite pictures from the trip. A lonely magenta hibiscus flower, kissing the waves of a very angry ocean.

We’ve been together seven years, and had talked about it off and on. There was just always something out of place at the time that made it infeasible.
It was the third for both of us, and I didn’t need a big, fancy affair. I did have one condition though – it had to be a beach wedding. My first wedding was a justice of the peace affair and my second a big, nightclub shindig. I’d always wanted a beach wedding (the previous two times, I had little say), and this time I was going to have it.

Craig and me at Ocean Beach, 2010. We thought it would be my last trip. I was scheduled for two major back surgeries in two weeks, and had a 78% chance of not making it off the table.

Craig and me at Ocean Beach, 2010. We thought it would be my last trip. I was scheduled for two major back surgeries in two weeks, and had a 78% chance of not making it off the table.

It seemed like the universe was against us, but we finally made it happen May 03, 2015. While Brighton Beach in New York was my first choice, San Diego is a relatively short drive from us and Ocean Beach held some sentimental meaning for us both.

2010 trip, when weather was cooperating. Marine layer rolling in over Ocean Beach in the early hours.

2010 trip, when weather was cooperating. Marine layer rolling in over Ocean Beach in the early hours.

California, here we come!
I had been sick with some kind of flu bug that had been going around, the entire week before. I started feeling better the day before we departed, but no sooner than we got there, I was hit with the second wave.
I spent pretty much the entire first day in bed or the bathroom throwing up. We finally found something to calm my stomach enough to get some sand, sun and a ring on my finger…but that’s coming up.

Footprints in the sand. Believe Craig and I wear the same size shoe?

Footprints in the sand. Believe Craig and I wear the same size shoe?

The day of, the weather turned chilly and while we spent most of it out on the beach, our sunset wedding was ruined by the storm passing through. We got the deed done, but it was an abbreviated ceremony due to the icy ocean winds, impending skies and 10-15 foot waves hitting the barriers in spots.
I got my husband and that’s all the truly mattered.

The best picture from our ceremony. Seriously. That's how bad the weather was. This was, however, the first time I ever wore a white dress. He is my first love; it felt appropriate.

The best picture from our ceremony. Seriously. That’s how bad the weather was.
This was, however, the first time I ever wore a white dress. He is my first love; it felt appropriate.

As I’ve mentioned before, I call myself vegetarian, but I’m actually pescatarian; I will occasionally eat seafood. And, when you’re right next to the ocean, eating the freshest seafood available?
Bet your ass I’m indulging.

2010 trip - South Beach Bar and Grill seafood taco sampler.

2010 trip – South Beach Bar and Grill seafood taco sampler.

2010 trip - South Beach Bar and Grill fried platter. Wahoo, Calamari, Shrimp and Mushrooms...I swoon for batter fried mushrooms.

2010 trip – South Beach Bar and Grill fried platter. Wahoo, Calamari, Shrimp and Mushrooms…I swoon for batter fried mushrooms.

The first time Craig and I visited Ocean Beach, we stumbled upon South Beach Bar and Grill. That’s where my love on Ono or Wahoo (same fish, two names) was born. Meaty like chicken, but cleaner tasting and absolutely delicious! I had to have Wahoo!

Calamari like "buttah" and the Pokè.

Calamari like “buttah” and the Pokè at Jimmy’s.

Fish and chips! Oh my Gods it was a ton of food!

Fish and chips at Jimmy’s! Oh my Gods it was a ton of food!

The first day though, we ended up at Jimmy’s Famous American Tavern because it was so close to our hotel. The Calamari was so soft and tender, it was, as we say, like “buttah”. The portions were huge and we had the best Pokè outside of Hawaii. Pokè, if you’re not familiar, is a raw fish salad of sorts, similar to Ceviche (which is, in my opinion, more of a Hispanic or South American flavor, where Pokè is a bit more Asian inspired).
We also found Jungle Java, which provided a fabulous cup of snickerdoodle coffee and the best Everything bagel I’ve had on the West coast. And, aside from the wild parrots (shit you not), a great view of the ocean, a quaint and cozy place to sit and sip (they have a garden shop on the property, too) and an interesting mix of friendly staff and patrons.

My beloved deep fried platter from South Beach! Every bit as good as I remembered!

My beloved deep fried platter from South Beach! Every bit as good as I remembered! We shared this and still heeded a to-go box!

Calamari steaks from South Beach. Not as buttery and tender as Jimmy's, but damn that's a big squid!

Calamari steaks from South Beach. Not as buttery and tender as Jimmy’s, but damn that’s a big squid!

What finally settled my stomach and got me out on the beach, you might ask?
Bloody Marys!
I started craving them, and had more Bloody Marys than anything during the duration of our stay.
Now, I LOVE Bloody Marys, but I had to have them!
(I’ll tell you all about my adoration of Bloodys in this Thirsty Throwback Thursday blog. I do believe they have come to be my absolute favorite cocktail.)

Bloody Mary at Jimmy's. Made with tequila, which I'm bot so crazy about and no Worcester sauce!  Sinful!

Bloody Mary at Jimmy’s. Made with tequila, which I’m not so crazy about and no Worcestershire sauce! Sinful!

I enjoyed the ones at South Beach so much more than those at Jimmy’s Famous – and the last day we were there, they started to recognize us walk in and had my order down perfectly!

Bloody Marys at South Beach. They finally learned to leave the celery out, bring extra Worcestershire sauce and extra olives!

Bloody Marys at South Beach. They finally learned to leave the celery out, bring extra Worcestershire sauce and extra olives!My perfect Bloody is the color of week old menstrual blood.

Murphy and his stupid laws.
Before we headed home, we did check out Point Loma as well as La Jolla; makes me want to have hordes of children in the hopes one will become rich and send his/her eccentric mother to a care facility there.
That’s another blog.

We got our sunset the night before we left. Some sweet girls on the beach took this of us. We were married right behind where we're standing.

We got our sunset the night before we left. Some sweet girls on the beach took this.of us. We were married right behind where we’re standing.

For now, I wish you a happy seafood Sunday, this delicious recipe for Pokè , this recipe for Wahoo’s citrus slaw fish tacos (I hear there’s a copycat recipe for Wahoo’s green sauce included), a recipe for chipotle beer battered Wahoo and a grilled Wahoo in tomato sauce recipe,from my favorite celebrity chef, Bobby Flay.
A few more of our coastal favorites…

Fried Calamari With Pepperoncinni Mayo Sauce
Fried Calamari is probably the most common way you’ll find it in a restaurant (because it is truly delicious when it’s done right), but how about trying calamari stuffed with shrimp and spinach, for a different spin on this inky delight.
Craig’s favorite, fried shrimp, especially in a good beer batter (he makes the best beer batter), and with a fantastic cocktail sauce (he makes the best cocktail sauce, too! And no, I’m not biased!).

These vinegar French fries would be a perfect sidekick, especially with extra malt vinegar, my favorite in the vinegar family, and a must have (for me) with seafood.

We also had some great sushi recently (eel sauce and tempura crunch and I’m sold!), so I wanted to share this sushi guide infographic, for those of you, who, like us, occasionally like your seafood still swimming, so to speak.

While I don’t push my lifestyle (dietary or otherwise) on anyone, if you’re interested in a Pescatarian diet, the Huffington Post released this article on some of the top reasons a Pescatarian lifestyle is a great choice.
What are your favorite fish dishes? Let us know in the comments here, on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter!
Enjoy your Seafood Sunday!

Leave a Reply

