Don’t Have a Cow! Its Meatless Monday

I went vegetarian a couple years ago. Since I stopped eating pork about 25 years ago, it’s been a goal of mine. When I started having more health problems, I decided something had to change.

Technically, I’m Pescatarian; meaning I’ll eat seafood from time to time. It’s pretty rare, since its hard to get good, fresh seafood in Arizona.
And, I’ll be honest – it’s easier to say vegetarian walking into a restaurant, than explain what I can and can’t eat.
I made the mistake of doing it (pardon the pun) “cold turkey”, too. I took a huge blow to my system and would have been better off having weaned a meat out, every month or so, rather than just cutting myself completely off.
My husband is not vegetarian in any way, shape or form. I will cook him anything he wants and never deny him a burger or supreme pizza if that’s what he desires. Granted, he rarely eats any meat, out of support for my choice.
But, here’s the thing…
It’s MY choice.
I made the decision for me, and it’s not my place to make it, or push it, on anyone else.
I dislike self-righteous vegetarian and vegan folks as much as you carnivorous types.
However, studies do show that reducing your meat intake, by even one day a week, can vastly improve health.
Hence, Meatless Monday was born.
I can’t take credit for its creation, only perpetuate it.
I love to cook and enjoy discovering new recipes to experiment with. I’m one of those, “I have X, Y and Z, so let’s see what happens” types, too.
I know it’s Labor Day, and the last “official” cook-out of the summer, but don’t forget your meatless friends when you “fire up the barbie” today!
Now, a few do include bacon or the like, but it’s easy enough to substitute with a meat-like product (soy or Portobello mushroom, for example), or omit it all together.
Don’t fret if this isn’t the Monday for you to give it a try! I’m sure you’ll see this post, re-posted, often.
I have also broken this down into categories: Appetizers and Snacks, Main Meals, Side Dishes and Desserts – take that as you will. You may find an appetizer to be enough for a meal, or a side is more of an appetizer.
Your kitchen, your call.
Also, some recipes are vegan, but most are not. I do consume dairy, honey and eggs (where vegans consume no animal products whatsoever), so use your discretion on what’s right for you.

APPETIZERS AND SNACKS:

Cheetos Bombs

Polenta Black Bean Cakes

Buffalo Chickpea Lettuce Wraps

Eggplant Chips With Tahini Pesto

Vegan Buffalo Wings

Fried Pickles And Dipping Sauce

3 Ingredient Stuffed Peppers

Mexican Spice Cheese Crackers

Herb Dip And Vegetable Crudite

Spinach Feta Turnovers

Goat Cheese Poppers With Honey

Jalepeno Popper Stuffed Mushrooms

Smoked Cashew Salsa

Cherry Mango Stuffed Peppers

MAIN DISHES:

Creamy Broccoli Pasta

Vegan Kung Pao Chicken

Veggie Tamales

Zucchini Pie

Tortilla Soup

Vegetarian Grilling

Tomato, Spinach And Goat Cheese Pasta

Zucchini Lasagna

Corn, Zucchini And Black Bean Enchiladas

Vegetarian Pho

Vegetarian Quesadillas

Butternut Squash Enchilada Casserole

Gazpacho

Pulled Butternut Squash Tacos

SIDE DISHES:

Asparagus Tart

Slow Cooker Corn With Flavored Butters

Sweet Potato Salad

New Potatoes With Garlic And Herbs

Balsamic Grilled Summer Squash

Watermelon Feta Salad

Roasted Vegetable Salad With Cilantro Cashew Cream

Mexican Street Corn Salad

Vegan Hot And Sour Soup

Horseradish Potatoes

Stuffed Zucchini Recipes

DESSERTS:

Baklava

Blackberry Desserts

Lemon Cookies

Caramel Swirl Cheesecake

Raspberry Peanut Butter Truffles

Toffee Cookie Bars

Lavender Cupcakes With Honey Frosting

Iced Tea Ice Cream Sandwiches

Crazy Cake In A Mug

Strawberry Limeade Cake

Pineapple Vodka Ice Pops With Berries And Cilantro

There you have it! More than 50 meatless recipes for Monday, or any day! If you’re concerned about protein, these ten veggies are protein rich, as are these ten, plant based sources.

Don’t forget to like and follow us on all our social media, to get even more, great #MeatlessMonday recipes and info!

Leave a Reply

